Skip to main content
Jaroslav Nešetřil
Contact Info
Jaroslav Nešetřil
Principal Investigator - CUNI

Jaroslav (Jarik) Nešetřil (born March 13, 1946 in Brno) is a Czech mathematician, working at Charles University in Prague. His research areas include combinatorics (structural combinatorics, Ramsey theory), graph theory (coloring problems, sparse structures), algebra (representation of  structures, categories, homomorphisms), posets (diagram and dimension problems), computer science (complexity, NP-completeness).

Regarding DYNASNET, he works on limit structures for sparse classes and model theoretic aspects of networks. He supervises the team at CUNI and coordinates with other PIs.

  • Hell, Pavol; Nešetřil, Jaroslav (2004). Graphs and Homomorphisms (Oxford Lecture Series in Mathematics and Its Applications). Oxford University Press. ISBN 0-19-852817-5.
  • Matoušek, Jiří; Nešetřil, Jaroslav (1998). Invitation to Discrete Mathematics. Oxford University Press. ISBN 0-19-850207-9.
  • Matoušek, Jiří; Nešetřil, Jaroslav; Mielke, H. (translator) (2002). Diskrete Mathematik: Eine Entdeckungsreise (in German). Springer. ISBN 3-540-42386-9.
  • Matoušek, Jiří; Nešetřil, Jaroslav (2006). Introduction aux mathématiques discrètes (in French). Springer. ISBN 228720010X.
  • Nešetřil, Jaroslav; Ossona de Mendez, Patrice (2012). Sparsity - Graphs, Structures, and Algorithms (Algorithms and Combinatorics, Vol. 28). Springer. ISBN 978-3-642-27874-7.
  • Nešetřil, Jaroslav; Rödl, Vojtěch (1991). Mathematics of Ramsey Theory (Algorithms and Combinatorics, Vol. 5). Springer. ISBN 0-387-18191-1.
Prizes and Awards
  • Silver medal of Union of Czechoslovak Mathematicians and Physicists (1977)
  • State Prize of Czechoslovakia (jointly with V. Rödl) (1985)
  • Doctor Honoris Causa of the University of Alaska (2002)
  • Doctor Honoris Causa of the University of Bordeaux 1 (2009)
  • Medal of Merit of Czech Republic (2010)
  • Gold medal of Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Charles University (2011)
  • elected to Academia Europaea (2012)
  • honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (since 2013)
  • Donatio Universitatis Carolinae prize (2018)